Transparency joins the appeal of Russian and international NGOs against blocking Telegram

«Трансперенси» присоединяется к обращению российских и международных НКО против блокировки Telegram

"Transparency International - Russia" joins the appeal of the initiative group of  Russian and international NGOs to Russian authorities with an appeal to stop the restrictions on anonymity on the Internet and the blocking of the Telegram messenger. The initiative group includes 53 organizations; including the Center for the Development of Democracy and Human Rights, Human  Rights Watch, the Human Rights Center "Memorial", the Moscow Helsinki Group, ATS Info, RosKomSvoboda, Team 29, and the international office of Transparency International.

On April 13 Tagansky District Court of Moscow granted Roscomnadzor's lawsuit about blocking access to Telegram. To date, many services have suffered from locks, including e-commerce sites, hotel booking sites and airline tickets, as well as Internet banking services,  several online media and the largest international Internet companies. On May 16, more than 10 million IP-addresses of these companies was blocked.

We call on the Russian authorities to stop blocking Telegram and to stop the  incessant attacks on the freedom of the Internet as a whole. We also call on the United Nations, the Council of Europe, the Organization for Security  and Cooperation in Europe, the European Union, the United States of America and other interested governments to respond to the actions of the Russian authorities and support the fundamental rights to freedom of expression and privacy on the Internet and outside it.  Finally, we call on Internet companies to resist unreasonable and unlawful demands that violate the rights of their users.

«Трансперенси» присоединяется к обращению российских и международных НКО против блокировки Telegram

«Трансперенси Интернешнл - Россия» присоединяется к обращению инициативной группы российских и международных НКО к российским органам власти с призывом прекратить ограничения анонимности в интернете и блокировки мессенджера Telegram. В состав инициативной группы входят 53 организации; в их числе Центр развития демократии и прав человека, Human Rights Watch, правозащитный центр «Мемориал», Московская Хельсинкская Группа, ОВД Инфо, РосКомСвобода, Команда 29, а также международное отделение Transparency International.

13 апреля Таганский районный суд Москвы удовлетворил иск Роскомнадзора о блокировке доступа к Telegram. На сегодняшний день от блокировок пострадало множество сервисов, в том числе площадки для электронной коммерции, сайты бронирования гостиниц и покупки авиабилетов, а также сервисы интернет-банкинга, несколько интернет СМИ и крупнейшие международные интернет-компании. На 16 мая заблокировано более 10 миллионов IP-адресов этих компаний.

Мы призываем российские власти остановить блокировку Telegram и прекратить беспрестанные нападки на свободу Интернета в целом. Мы также призываем Организацию Объединенных Наций, Совет Европы, Организацию по безопасности и сотрудничеству в Европе, Европейский Союз, Соединенные Штаты Америки и другие заинтересованные правительства отреагировать на действия властей России и поддержать основополагающие права на свободу выражения мнения и неприкосновенность частной жизни в Интернете и вне его. Наконец, мы призываем интернет-компании противостоять необоснованным и неправовым требованиям, нарушающим права их пользователей.